Nan Cohen is the author of Rope Bridge (2005). Her poems appear or are forthcoming in Gulf Coast, The New Republic, Ploughshares, Prairie Schooner, The Prentice-Hall Anthology of Women's Literature, and other magazines and anthologies. She is the recipient of grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Rona Jaffe Foundation, and the Wallace Stegner Fellowship at Stanford University. She teaches in the Master of Professional Writing Program at the University of Southern California and is the Poetry Director of the Napa Valley Writers' Conference.

Suzanne Cope earned a PhD in Creative Nonfiction Pedagogy and an MFA in Creative Writing, both from Lesley University and has presented or published with Association of Writers and Writing Programs, Northeast Modern Language Association, Association for the Study of Food and Society, Italian American Review, among others. She has also published essays and articles in The Journal of Compressed Arts, Blue Lyra Review, New Plains Review, Culinate,  Edible Boston, among others. Her book Locavore in the City is in peer review at SUNY Press and her upcoming book Small Batch will be published by Alta Mira Press. She teaches writing and literature at Manhattan College.

Karen Dietrich is the author of The Girl Factory: A Memoir (Globe Pequot, 2013).  Her writing has appeared in SmokeLong Quarterly, Joyland, Main Street Rag, Specter, Bellingham Review, PANK, and elsewhere.  She has published two poetry chapbooks: Anchor Glass (Finishing Line Press, 2011) and [un.der.sto.ry] (dancing girl press, 2013).  Her flash nonfiction chapbook Girl Years won the 2012 Chapbook Award from Matter Press. She lives in Greensburg, Pennsylvania.  Find her online at

David W. Brown earned his B.S. from Louisiana State University and his M.F.A. from University of Arkansas at Monticello. His latest books are Deep State (John Wiley & Sons, 2013), which was shortlisted for the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award, and The Command (Wiley, 2012). He is a correspondent for The Atlantic and a regular contributor to The Week Magazine and Mental Floss. His work has appeared in Foreign Policy magazine, Vox, and National Journal, among other places. David is a grant recipient from the Fund for Investigative Journalism and is a regular commentator for radio and television.

Sandy Longhorn's poetry collection, The Girlhood Book of Prairie Myths, has just won the 2013 Jacar Press Full Length Poetry Book contest, judged by Stuart Dischell.  Sandy is also the author of Blood Almanac which won the Anhinga Prize for Poetry. New poems have appeared recently in 32 Poems, The Cincinnati Review, Crazyhorse, North American Review, and elsewhere. Longhorn teaches at Pulaski Technical College, where she directs the Big Rock Reading Series. In addition, she co-edits the online journal Heron Tree, is an Arkansas Arts Council fellow, and blogs at Myself the only Kangaroo among the Beauty.

Peter Nichols is the author of five books of memoir, fiction, and nonfiction. His nonfiction books A Voyage for Madmen (a finalist for the William Hill Sports Book of the Year) and Evolution's Captain were both national and international bestsellers. His novel Voyage to the North Star was nominated for the Dublin IMPAC Literary Award. His essays and journalism have appeared in The London Review of Books, Ecotone, Outside, Men's Journal, Gourmet, He has taught creative writing at Georgetown University, New York University (Paris), Bowdoin College, and the University of Arizona.

Sara Nicholson is the author of The Living Method (The Song Cave, 2014) and a chapbook, Good for Burning (Free Poetry).  Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in the Denver Quarterly, Critical Quarterly, Cannibal, The Volta, Everyday Genius, Handsome, and elsewhere.  A graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, she teaches at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville.

Melinda Palacio is an award-winning poet and novelist. She lives in Santa Barbara and New Orleans. She holds two degrees in Comparative Literature, a B.A. from UC Berkeley and an M.A. from UC Santa Cruz. She is a 2007 PEN Center USA Emerging Voices Rosenthal Fellow and a 2009 poetry alum of the Squaw Valley Community of Writers. Her poetry chapbook, Folsom Lockdown, won Kulupi Press’ Sense of Place 2009 award. She is the author of the novel, Ocotillo Dreams (ASU Bilingual Press 2011), for which she received the Mariposa Award for Best First Book at the 2012 International Latino Book Awards and a 2012 PEN Oakland-Josephine Miles Award for Excellence in Literature. Her short story and excerpt of her novel-in-progress was a 2012 Glimmer Train Finalist. She also writes a column for La Bloga. Her short stories and poetry have appeared in a variety of journals and anthologies including Latinos in Lotusland: An Anthology of Contemporary Southern California Literature, PALABRA: A Magazine of Chicano & Latino Literary Art, Pilgrimage Magazine, Eleven Eleven, Black Renaissance/Renaissance Noire, Southern Poetry Anthology, New Poets of the American West, and Mary: a Journal of New Writing. Tia Chucha Press published her first full-length poetry collection, How Fire Is A Story, Waiting, (2012).

Diane Payne is the author of Burning TulipsFreedom’s Just Another Word, and A New Kind of Music. She has been published in hundreds of literary journals, such as Cleaver Magazine, Lascaux Review, Story South, Lunch Ticket,Tishman Review, Switchback Review, Split Rock Review, Word Riot, 3 am, Failbetter, Christian Science Monitor, In These Times, and elsewhere.

Jessica Piazza is the author of two poetry collections: "Interrobang" (Red Hen Press), winner of the 2013 Balcones Poetry Prize, and the chapbook "This is not a sky," (Black Lawrence Press). She holds a Ph.D. in English Literature and Creative Writing from the University of Southern California and is currently a contributing editor for The Offending Adam and a screener for the National Poetry Series.  Her commitment to fostering writing communities wherever she lives led her to co-found of Bat City Review in Austin, TX, Gold Line Press in Los Angeles and Speakeasy Poetry Series in New York City. Learn more at

Born and raised in Southern California, Adam Prince earned his B.A. from Vassar College, his M.F.A. from the University of Arkansas, and his Ph.D. from the University of Tennessee. His award-winning fiction has appeared in The Missouri Review, The Southern Review, and Narrative Magazine, among others. His debut short story collection The Beautiful Wishes of Ugly Men was published with Black Lawrence Press in June of 2012. The recipient of the 2012-2013 Tickner Fellowship, he was recently named one of the twenty best new writers by Narrative Magazine. You can find more information on his website at

Mark Spencer is the author of the novels The Masked Demon, Love and Reruns in Adams County, The Weary Motel; the nonfiction book A Haunted Love Story; the history Images of America: Monticello; and two collections of short stories. He has won four national awards for his fiction, including the Faulkner Society Faulkner Award, The Omaha Prize for the Novel, The Bradshaw Book Award, and The Cairn/St. Andrews Press Short Fiction Award. His short stories and articles have appeared in a variety of national and international journals, such as The Chariton Review, Texas Review, Florida Review, South Dakota Review, The Laurel Review, The Double Dealer Redux, Fiction, Critique: Studies in Modern Fiction, New Mexico Humanities Review, Chelsea Hotel, The Dos Passos Review, Beloit Fiction Journal, Natural Bridge, Kansas Quarterly, and elsewhere.