Skip Navigation
WWW Logo

2003 Awards Ceremony

A Celebration of Academic Excellence

The University of Arkansas at Monticello School of Computer Information Systems recognized its outstanding students during an awards presentation at the School's annual reception. The reception was held on April 29, 2003, in the Capitol Dining Room at the John F. Gibson University Center.

Honored guests included the UAM Chancellor, Dr. Fred Taylor; the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Dr. Dennnis Travis; the Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration, Dr. Mark Davis; the Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs, the Director of University Relations, and the Director of the UAM Foundation, Dr. Peggy Doss; the Registrar, Dr. Debbie Bryant; and the Head Librarian, Ms. Sandra Dupree.

Award Nominees

Picture of Award Nominees

The Academic Excellence Award Nominees included Janice L. Baker, Samantha Bunting, Justin Carter, Russell LaVon Corker, Charlette Cross, Kimberlie F. Daniel, Karen-Elise Donham, Trey Dunlap, James M. Ellis, Carolyn J. Fielder, Joshua R. Hackett, Pamela R. Hopper, George E. Lindsey, Kevin K. Murphy, Mark Christopher Simpson Jr., C. Michelle Smith, William H. Smith III, Ashley Sullivan, Amanda Tate, Emanuel Denard Vance, Marquita Danyell Washington, Thomas Wust.

Each nominee was presented a certificate recognizing their nomination.


Academic Excellence Winners

Picture of Academic Excellence Winners

C. Michelle Smith, Mark Christopher Simpson Jr,
Not Pictured: Trey Dunlap

Outstanding Rookie

Picture of Outstanding Rookie

Charlette Cross

Outstanding Junior

Picture of Outstanding Junior

Janice L. Baker

Outstanding Senior

Picture of Outstanding Senior

William H. Smith III

Faculty Member of the Year

A new award, Faculty Member of the Year, was instituted this year. CIS majors and minors voted on faculty members to select the winner. The first winner of this new annual award is Ms. Angela Marsh

Picture of Faculty Member
of the year

Award Presenters

CIS School Chair Dr. James Roiger served as Masters of Ceremonies for the awards presentation and was assisted in making the presentations by faculty members Ms. Terri Hopkins and Ms. Angela Marsh. Mr. William H. Smith III, President of Chi Iota Sigma, the CIS Student Club, assisted Dr. Roiger in presenting the Faculty Member of the Year award.

A special thanks goes to Ms. Nancy Tappe, the School's Support Specialist, who worked very hard to make it all happen.

UAM School of CIS