## 1909-Present . . . Milestones in History

- 1909 Fourth District Agricultural School established by Act 100 of the General Assembly of the State of Arkansas on April 1.
- 1910 Fourth District Agricultural School Board unanimously selects Monticello, and the land offered by the family of Judge William Turner Wells, as the school's location; John Spence named superintendent; Main Building, Willard Hall, Sorrells Hall completed; first classes held September 14.
- 1912 Wells Hall, named for Judge William Turner Wells, completed.
- 1913 Frank Horsfall named president.
- 1925 Name changed to Agricultural and Mechanical College of the Fourth District by Act 45 of the General Assembly of the State of Arkansas.
- 1926 Festus H. Russell named interim president; National Guard Armory completed.
- 1927 Frank Horsfall named president again, to serve through 1934.
- 1928 Junior college accreditation received from North Central.
- 1932 Harris Hall, named for Trustee C.T. Harris, and Horsfall Hall, named for President Horsfall's wife, Margaret, dedicated.
- 1934 College celebrates 25th anniversary.
- 1935 Hugh Critz named president; Fine Arts Building, Student Commons, and Cotton Boll Stadium completed.
- 1936 Marvin S. Bankston named president.
- 1939 Name officially changed to Arkansas Agricultural and Mechanical College

- (Arkansas A&M College) by Act 106 of the General Assembly of the State of Arkansas.
- 1940 Science Building completed; senior college accreditation received from North Central.
- 1943 Navy V-12 Program instituted.
- 1945 Forestry program begins.
- 1946 William E. Morgan named president.
- 1949 Horace E. Thompson named president.
- 1952 Student Union Building completed.
- 1956 Jeter Hall, named for Trustee R.E. Jeter, completed.
- 1957 Forestry Building dedicated.
- 1959 A&M celebrates 50th anniversary; Fieldhouse completed.
- 1960 Jack Mears named president.
- 1961 Maxwell Hall, named for Trustee Ray Maxwell, completed.
- 1962 Claude H. Babin named president.
- 1964 Science Center dedicated.
- 1971 Arkansas A&M College merges with the University of Arkansas to become the University of Arkansas at Monticello on July 1.
- 1976 Fine Arts Center, new Administration Building, and Agriculture Building dedicated.
- 1977 Fred J. Taylor named chancellor.

- 1980 UAM receives first unconditional accreditation from North Central.
- 1983 Department of Nursing receives accreditation from National League of Nursing;John F. Gibson University Center dedicated.
- 1984 UAM celebrates 75th Diamond Jubilee; Department of Forest Resources accredited by the Society of American Foresters.
- 1986 Accreditation received for School of Education from the National Council on Accreditation of Teacher Education.
- 1988 Division of Music receives accreditation from the National Association of Schools of Music.
- 1994 UAM leaves the Arkansas Intercollegiate Conference and NAIA for the Gulf South Conference and NCAA Division II.
- 1999 Accreditation received for Bachelor of Social Work program by the Council on Social Work Education.
- 1999 University Library and Technology Center dedicated.
- 2003 Great Rivers Technical Institute in McGehee and Forest Echoes Technical
  Institute in Crossett merge with UAM and are renamed the UAM College of
  Technology at McGehee and the UAM College of Technology at Crossett on July
  1.
- 2004 University Library and Technology Center renamed Fred J. Taylor Library and
  Technology Center in honor of retiring chancellor; Jack Lassiter named chancellor.
  2006 Weevil Pond, Weevil Walk, and Willard Hall renovated.

- 2008 Convoy Leslie-Cotton Boll Stadium renovated.
- 2009 Wells Hall and Sorrells Hall renovated; new Indoor Practice Facility opens; UAM celebrates centennial and Centennial Clock Tower erected.
- 2011 UAM leaves the Gulf South Conference to join the Great American Conference.
- 2012 George H. Clippert Forest Resources Annex dedicated.
- 2013 Bankston Hall renovated and enlarged, and changed from all-male to coeducational residential facility; Randy S. Risher Wellness Center dedicated.