Privately Funded Scholarships

Weldon B. Abbott Scholarship

Established by Mrs. Betty S. Abbott and children to honor her husband and their father, Mr. Weldon B. Abbott  of Pine Bluff, Arkansas.  This scholarship is awarded to students majoring in agriculture and may be renewed.

Jesse & Ernestine Coker Scholarship

Established by Dr. and Mrs. Coker to provide annual scholarships to graduates of Drew Central High School, Monticello, Arkansas.   Mrs. Coker was a student at Arkansas A&M.  Dr. Coker is a former student of Arkansas A&M, and he served on the faculty and as an administrator at the University from 1965-86.  A scholarship is awarded to a student majoring in agriculture and to a student majoring in education.

Vance W. Edmondson Scholarship

Established by Vance W. Edmondson who graduated from Arkansas A&M in 1938.  Dr. Edmondson was a Professor of Agriculture Economics at Texas A&M.  The scholarship is awarded to a student who is majoring in agriculture.

Robert L. Hixson Memorial Scholarship

Established by family and friends in memory of Robert L. Hixson.  Recipient must be an agriculture or forestry major and will be chosen by the Scholarship Committee.

Robert C. Kirst Endowed Scholarship           

Initially established by the UAM Agriculture Alumni Society to honor Professor Emeritus of Agriculture Robert  C. Kirst following his retirement from UAM in 1998.   Sufficient funds were raised to endow the scholarship in October 2007.  The scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior agriculture major.

B.C. Pickens Scholarship

Established by the trustees of the B.C. Pickens Trust.  The scholarship is awarded to a student with ties to Pickens, Arkansas and second consideration given to a student majoring in agriculture.

University of Arkansas School of Agriculture Scholarship

Formerly named the John Rust Agriculture scholarship.  The recipient(s) of this scholarship must be an agriculture major.

Webb/Carter Scholarship

Established by Paul R. and June Webb Carter of Bentonville, Arkansas in honor of their parents, Moten and the late Willean Carter and Bessie Webb Horton and the late Ray Webb.  The scholarship is awarded to a student majoring in agriculture.

Allied Poultry

A one-year award in agriculture that is funded by money received from Allied Poultry Industries and matched by funds from individual donors.

Jimmy Lee Buford Memorial Scholarship

Annual scholarship administered by the UAM College of Technology at McGehee.  This scholarship was established in memory of Jimmy Lee Buford and is given to student(s) in the agriculture department.   

Other organizations making scholarships available to students majoring in agriculture:

  • The Razorback Chapter, Soil & Water Conservation Society Conservation Scholarship
  • Arkansas Farm Bureau Federation
  • Arkansas Crop Protection Association
  • Mid-South Grain Elevator & Processing Society (GEAPS)
  • Bob White Foundation
  • Salin County Master Gardeners
  • Desha/Drew Cattlemen's Association
  • Crossett Riding Club Scholarship

UAM Institutional Scholarships