Beats Spring 2013 The Voice Handbook
The Voice Stylebook
Morgue (2008-2011)
Morgue (2003-2008)
Indices: Author | Subject
CommStop
eMedia

   For more information about beats, check out the FAQ. Student organization contacts can be found here; previous holders of your beat can be found here.

   When gathering information for your beat backgrounder, be sure to look through the archives and the morgue for old articles relevant to your beat. Copy the url for your backgrounder as links will be used in a subject index to help the staff; you'll get future credit through your inclusion in the author index. This will also give you an idea of the diversity of articles that can be written on your topic.

   The Voice holds staff meetings Mondays from 11:10 a.m. to noon in 106 Wells Hall. See you there!

Campus Government | Crossett | McGehee | Agriculture | Arts & Humanities | A&H Performance | Business | Computer Information Systems | Education | Forest Resources | Nursing | Mathematical & Natural Sciences | Social & Behavioral Sciences | Athletics | Residence Halls | Student Affairs | Campus Administration | Student Groups | Religious | Greeks

Beat Organizations (president) Contacts | Dean | Advisers Responsibility
Campus Government The Assembly
http://www.uamont.edu/Assembly/assembly.htm


Board of Visitors
http://www.uamont.edu/boardofvisitors.htm

Student Government Association/Student Activities Board

http://www.uamont.edu/organizations/sga/

International Student Organization

http://cotton.uamont.edu/~iso/

Assembly 
President Greg Borse

borse@uamont.edu | 460-xxxx

SGA/SAB
President Robert Webb
@uamont.edu | 460-xxxx

ISO- Mary Whiting
whitingm@uamont.edu | 460-1
026

Kelly Reed
(Friday, noon)
Crossett campus

Vice Chancellor Linda Rushing
rushingl@uamont.edu | 460-1237+7111
Janie Carter
Assistant to the Vice Chancellor
460-1237+7115
carter@uamont.edu

McGehee campus

Vice Chancellor Bob Ware
wareb@uamont.edu | 460-1237+5201
Sharon Cantrell
Assistant to the Vice Chancellor
460-1237+5250
cantrells@uamont.edu

Agriculture

Dean - Dr. Kelly Bryant
bryantk@uamont.edu | 460-1291/723-5518
Agriculture Club

Collegiate Farm Bureau
(Laura Atkinson - laa5104@uamont.edu)

Rodeo Club
http://www.uamont.edu/Organizations/Rodeo/
(Jim Barnes - jab5216@uamont.edu)

AC -Dr. Whitney Whitworth
whitworth@uamont.edu  | 460-1214

CFB - Dr. Robert Stark
stark@uamont.edu | 460-1414

RC
-
@uamont.edu | 460-XXXX

Clint Blasengame
(Friday, noon)
Arts & Humanities

Dean - Mark Spencer  - MCB 112
spencer@uamont.edu | 460-1078

  • English Department
  • Communication Department

 

Foreign Language Club
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~forlangclub/


Sigma Tau Delta - ΣΤΔ (English Honor Society)
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~sigtaudelta

Journalism Club
http://www.uamont.edu/Organizations/TheVoice/

Forensics Team

http://www.uamont.edu/Organizations/PiKappaDelta/

Pi Kappa Delta - ΠΚΔ
http://www.pikappadelta.com

Lambda Pi Eta - ΛΠΗ
http://www.natcom.org/nca/Template2.asp?bid=21

FLC - Isabel Bacon
bacnni@uamont.edu | 460-1638

ΣΤΔ - Sarah Bloom
bloom@uamont.edu | 460-1678

Forensic/Debate Society/ΠΚΔ/ΛΠΗ
 Director Jim Evans
evans@uamont.edu  | 460-1579

Chris Guzman
(Tuesday, noon)
A&H Performance

Dean - Mark Spencer  - MCB 112
spencer@uamont.edu | 460-1078

Art Club
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~artclub/


The Foliate Oak
http://foliateoak.uamont.edu

Theatre Club

Concert Choir
http://www.uamont.edu/music/uamchoir.html

Kappa Kappa Psi - ΚΚΨ
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~kappapsi/ | kappapsi@uamont.edu

Marching Band, Concert Band, Jazz Band
http://www.uamont.edu/music/band/index.html

Southeast Arkansas Concert Association (SEARK)

AC - Scott Lykens
lykenss@uamont.edu | 460-1238

FOO - Diane Payne
payne@uamont.edu | 460-1247

TC - Dr. Kay Walter
walter@uamont.edu  | 460-1578

choir- Dr. Kent Skinner
skinner@uamont.edu | 460-1860


ΚΚΨ & bands - Gary Meggs
meggs@uamont.edu
| 460-1660
 

Drew Foote
(Friday, noon)
Business

Dean - Dr. Lou James
jamesl@uamont.edu | 460-1041
Institute of Management Accounting student chapter
(Ashley Lay - AAL5620@uamont.edu)

Chess Club

Financial Management Association

Phi Beta Lambda (inactive) - ΦΒΛ
http://www.uamont.edu/organizations/pbl/

SOBIS Student Association
(inactive)

Student in Free Enterprise
(inactive)
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~sife/

IMA-Dr. Dexter Gulledge
gulledge@uamont.edu | 460-1741

IMA-Dr. Ted Hammett
hammett@uamont.edu | 460-1641

IMA-Becky Phillips
phillips@uamont.edu | 460-1111

CC/FMA - Dr. Robert Graber
graber@uamont.edu | 460-1373

ΦΒΛ - Dr. Dennis Patterson
pattersonj@uamont.edu | 460-1841

 
Computer Information Systems

Dean -  
@uamont.edu | 460-xxxx
Chi Iota Sigma - ΧΙΣ
http://www.uamont.edu/organizations/chiiotasigma/

ΧΙΣ - Terri Hopkins
hopkins@uamont.edu  | 460-1541

ΧΙΣ - Karen Donham
donham@uamont.edu  | 460-1541

 
Education

Dean - Dr. Peggy Doss
dossp@uamont.edu | 460-1062

Education Honor Society

Kappa Delta Pi - ΚΔΠ
http://www.csuchico.edu/kdp/


Student Arkansas Education Association

ΚΔΠ - Sandra  Maxedon
maxedon@uamont.edu | 460-1466

SAEA - Dr. C. Morrell Jones

jones@uamont.edu | 460-1237 ext. 3113



Forest Resources

Dean - Dr. Phillip Tappe
SFRDean@uamont.edu | 460-1052

Forestry Club
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~forestryclub/

Society of American Foresters
(Chris Stuhlinger - stuhlinger@uamont.edu 460-1749)

Xi Sigma Phi - ΞΣΦ
http://www.afrc.uamont.edu/ficklinr/XSP


Spatial Information Systems Club

Wildlife Society
 

FC - Dr. Lynne Thompson
thompson@uamont.edu
| 460-1349
FC - Dr. Jamie Schuler
schuler@uamont.edu | 460-1993

SAF &
ΞΣΦ - Dr. Robert Ficklin
ficklin@uamont.edu
| 460-1692

WS- Dr. Phillip Tappe
tappe@uamont.edu | 460-1352
WS - Dr. Don White
whited@uamont.edu | 460-1490
WS - Christopher Watt
watt@uamont.edu | 460-1752

Ryan Hill
(Friday, noon)
Nursing

Chair -Dr. Pam Gouner
gouner@uamont.edu | 460-1269

Student Nursing Association SNA - James Crow
crowja@uamont.edu | 460-1469
Jennifer Lawrence
(Wednesday, noon)
Mathematical & Natural Sciences

Dean -Dr. Morris Bramlett
bramlett@uamont.edu | 460-1
465
Biology Club
(Shyann Scott - sns1221@uamont.edu)

Math and Physics Club
(
Shuneize Lowe- sel1331@uamont.edu)

Medical Science Club

Sigma Zeta - ΣΖ
(
Ashley Ramsey - aar3507@uamont.edu)

BC - Dr. Chris Sims
simsc@uamont.edu | 460-1664

BC- Dr. John Hunt
huntj@uamont.edu | 460-1466

MPC - Dr. Farrokh Abedi  abedi@uamont.edu | 460-1216

MPC - Dr. Juan Serna
serna@uamont.edu |
460-1567

MSC - Dr. Glenn Manning
manning@uamont.edu | 460-1166

ΣΖ
- Dr. Charles Dolberry
dolberry@uamont.edu | 460-1916

Tori Bozzo
(Monday, noon)
Social and Behavioral Sciences

Dean -
@uamont.edu | 460-1047

  • Criminal Justice
  • History
  • Political Science
  • Psychology
  • Sociology
Behavioral Science Club

History/Political Science Club

Delta Sigma Theta - ΔΣΘ

Lambda Alpha Epsilon - ΛΑΕ
http://www.acjalae.org/


Lambda Psi Omega - ΛΨΩ
http://www.geocities.com/lae_webmaster/index.html

Psychology Club

Psi Chi - ΨΧ

Social Work Club

Phi Alpha - ΦΑ

Phi Alpha Theta - ΦΑΘ

Pi  Sigma Alpha - ΠΣΑ


Students for Constitutional & Human Rights
ΔΣΘ - Tawana Jones
jonesta@uamont.edu | 460-1310

ΛΑΕ
& ΛΨΩ- Dr. Adam McKee
mckee@uamont.edu | 460-1279

PC
- Dr. Richard Clubb
clubb@uamont.edu | 460-1587

ΨΧ - Dr. Myeong Kim

SWC - Ava Pickard
pickard@uamont.edu | 460-1388

ΦΑ - Amy Huffman

ΦΑΘ - Dr. Kyle Day & Dr. Clinton Young

ΠΣΑ - Dr. Carol Strong


SCHR - Dr. Michael Botts
botts@uamont.edu | 460-1710
Rodney Hill
(Tuesday, noon)
Athletics
http://www.uamsports.com/staff.htm

Athletic Director Chris Ratcliff
ratcliff@uamont.edu | 460-1158

Sports Information Director

@uamont.edu | 460-1574

Football - Hud Jackson

Volleyball - Peter Cruz

Men's Basketball - Allen Sharpe

Women's Basketball - Tanya Ray

Baseball - John Harvey

Softball - Alvy Early

Golf - Heather Wall

Intramurals - Julie Gentry
http://www.uamont.edu/StudentAffairs/Intramurals/

 Cheerleaders - Mindy Holcomb
http://www.uamont.edu/StudentAffairs/Cheerleaders/

FB - @uamont.edu | X1817

VB-  
@uamont.edu | X
1358

MBB -  -  -
@uamont.edu
| X1258

WBB
  -
@uamont.edu
| X1357

BB
  -
@uamont.edu
|  X1257

SB -
Alvy Early
early@uamont.edu | X1158

IM - gentry@uamont.edu | X1046

Cheer - holcomb@uamont.edu | X1396

 
Residence Hall Association

Director - Mitch Meredith
meredith@uamont.edu | 460-1110

Residence Life
http://www.uamont.edu/StudentAffairs/ResidenceLife/

Bankston Hall InterHall Council

Horsfall Hall InterHall Council

Maxwell Hall & Apartments InterHall Council

Royer Hall InterHall Council

RHA President
  - @uamont.edu

BH   -
@uamont.edu |
460-1045

HH
  -
@uamont.edu
| 460-1272

MH
  -
@uamont.edu
| 460-1272

RH
  -
@uamont.edu
| 460-1371

Alissia Burden
Student Affairs

Vice Chancellor Jay Hughes
HughesJ@uamont.edu
460-1053

Dean of Students Scott Kuttenkuler
kuttenkuler@uamont.edu

Career Services
http://www.uamont.edu/StudentAffairs/CareerServices/

Counseling and Testing Center
http://www.uamont.edu/StudentAffairs/CounselingTesting/

Food Services
http://www.uamont.edu/StudentAffairs/FoodServices/

Gateway Student Support Systems
http://www.uamont.edu/StudentAffairs/Gateway/

Public Safety
http://www.uamont.edu/StudentAffairs/PublicSafety/PublicSafety.htm

Student Health
http://www.uamont.edu/studentaffairs/healthservices/


Youth Opportunities Unlimited
http://www.uamont.edu/studentaffairs/YOU/

Upward Bound
http://www.uamont.edu/StudentAffairs/UpwardBound/

 CS & CTC - Laura Hughes
hughesl@uamont.edu  | 460-1454

FS   -
@uamont.edu | 460-1076

GSSS & YOU - Tawana Jones
jonesta@uamont.edu | 460-1310

PS - John Kidwell
kidwell@uamont.edu | 460-1083

SH - Terri Richardson
richardson@uamont.edu | 460-1051

UB - Regina James
jamesr@uamont.edu | 460-1010

Susan Pruitt
(Wednesday, noon)
Campus Administration

Vice Chancellor of Finance and Administration Jay Jones
jonesj@uamont.edu | 460-1022

Vice Chancellor of Advancement Clay Brown
browncl@uamont.edu | 460-1028

Library Director Sandra Campbell
campbell@uamont.edu | 460-1480

Bookstore
http://www.uamont.edu/FinanceAdministration/Bookstore.htm

Financial Aid
http://www.uamont.edu/FinancialAid/

Information Technology
http://www.uamont.edu/InformationTechnology/

Library
http://www.uamont.edu/library/

Physical Plant
http://www.uamont.edu/FinanceAdministration/PhysicalPlant.htm

Trotter House
http://www.uamtrotterhouse.com/

Bookstore - Billy Hogue
hogue@uamont.edu | 460-1155

Financial Aid - Susan Brewer
brewers@uamont.edu | 460-1050

IT- Bobby Hoyle
hoyle@uamont.edu | 460-1036

PP - Director Jim Hudgins

hudgins@uamont.edu | 460-1018

TH - Manager Rebekah Heflin
HeflinR@uamont.edu | 870-367-0200

 
Student Groups

Mindy Holcomb
holcomb@uamont.edu | 460-1396

Alpha Chi - AΧ
http://www.uamont.edu/Organizations/AlphaChi/

Ambassadors
http://www.uamont.edu/admissions/ambassadorcontact.htm


Creative Artists Society
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~savant/creative1.html


Diamond Dolls

Knights
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~knights/

Lions Club

NAACP

AX - Dr. Kate Stewart
stewart@uamont.edu | 460-1878

Ambassadors - Mary Whiting
whitingm@uamont.edu | 460-1026

CAS - Dr. Gary Marshall
marshall@uamont.edu | 460-1947

Knights - Kavan Dotson
367-5966

NAACP - Tawana Jones
jonesta@uamont.edu | 460-1310

 
Religious Apostolic Student Union

Baptist Collegiate Ministry
http://www.uambcm.absc.org

Baptist Student Union

Catholic Weevils (inactive)
http://www.uamont.edu/Organizations/UAMCatholicWeevils/

Chi Alpha Christian Fellowship

Christian Outreach Club

Journey Church
http://www.journeychurch.us

Missionary Baptist Student Fellowship

UNITY Club
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~unityclub/index.htmlx

Weevils for Christ

Wesley Foundation
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~wesleyf/wesley.html |
uam_wesley@yahoo.com

Westminster Fellowship

ASU - Dr. C. Morrell Jones
jones@uamont.edu | 460-1237 ext. 3113

BCM
- Dave Johnston
dave@uambcm.com | 367-5381

CW -
  -
@uamont.edu |
460-1447

WFC
-
@uamont.edu | 866-5117

JC- Jeff Noble
460-4217

MBSF - Rob Leonard
rhl2202@uamont.edu |
367-5031

UNITY- Alethea Dallas-Mays
dallas@uamont.edu | 460-1743

Wesley - Kavan Dodson
367-5966

 
Greeks

???
holcomb@uamont.edu | 460-1396

Greek Council

Interfraternity Council

National Panhellenic Council

Alpha Phi Alpha - ΑΦΑ (Alphas)
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~aphia/alpha.htmlx | aphia@uamont.edu

Alpha Kappa Alpha - ΑΚΑ (ΑΚΑs)
http://www.alphakappaalpha.org


Alpha Sigma Alpha - ΑΣΑ (Alpha Sigs)
http://www.alphasigmaalpha.org

Alpha Sigma Tau - ΑΣΤ (Alpha Taus)
http://www.alphasigmatau.org

Delta Sigma Theta - ΔΣΘ (Deltas)
http://members.tripod.com/~dst_sp/

Kappa Alpha Order - ΚΑ
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~kappaalphaor/ (suspended)


Kappa Alpha Psi - ΚΑΨ (Kappas)
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~kapalphapsi/

Kappa Kappa Psi - ΚΚΨ (Psis)

Omega Psi Phi - ΩΨΦ (Omegas)
http://www.omegapsiphifraternity.org

Phi Beta Sigma - ΦΒΣ (Betas)
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~phibetasigma/

Phi Lambda Chi - ΦΛΧ (Phi Lambs)
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~philamb/

Sigma Sigma Sigma - ΣΣΣ (Sigmas)
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~trisigma/

Sigma Tau Gamma - ΣΤΓ (Sig Taus)
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~sigtau/

Tau Kappa Epsilon - ΤΚΕ (Tekes)
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~tke/ |
TKE@uamont.edu

Zeta Phi Beta - ΖΦΒ (Zetas)
http://cotton.uamont.edu/~zetaphibeta/ |
zetaphibeta@uamont.edu  

ΑΦΑ - Aletha Dallas-Mays
dallas@uamont.edu | 460-1788

AKA -

ΑΣΑ - Dr. Carole Efird
efird@uamont.edu | 460-1464

ΑΣΤ - Dr. Kathy King
king@uamont.edu | 460-1237 ext. 3114

ΔΣΘ - Tawana Jones
jonesta@uamont.edu |
460-1310

ΚΑΨ - Shellye Byrd
byrd@uamont.edu | 460-1747

ΚΚΨ -

ΩΨΦ - Tawana Jones
jonesta@uamont.edu |
460-1310

ΦΒΣ - Kelli Johnson
johnsonkel@uamont.edu | 460-1010

ΦΛΧ - Dr. Richard Clubb
clubb@uamont.edu | 460-1587

ΣΣΣ - Lester Pack
pack@uamont.edu | 460-1461

ΣΤΓ - Dr. Jim Edson
edson@uamont.edu | 460-1966

TKE- Ronald Sitton
sitton@uamont.edu | 460-1038

ΖΦΒ - Kelli Johnson
johnsonkel@uamont.edu | 460-1410

Christopher Cox
(Friday, noon)
If you don't understand something in this Web note, please e-mail Dr. Sitton.

© UAM Student Publications 2013
Revised 020513 — http://www.uamont.edu/organizations/thevoice/sm/beat.html