Skip Navigation

University of Arkansas at Monticello
Division of Computer Information Systems
CIS Student Organization

2001-2002 Academic Year


Chi Iota Sigma Installs New Members and Officers for 2002-2003

At the April meeting, the CIS club 10 new members and new officers for the 2002- 2003 academic year. New officers include James Hartshorn as President, William smith as Vice President, Naomi Freeman as Secretary, and Jared Wrzesinski as Scholarship officer. Trey Stutts was re-elected as Treasurer.


Acxiom Tour, Conway, AR

In late march, 16 members traveled to Conway, AR, to tour Acxiom's facility and visit with employees about work skills and employment opportunities

Guest Speaker on Acxiom's Tele-commuting program

At the March meeting, Ms. Teresa Hollinger, a UAM CIS graduate who tele- commutes to work at the Acxiom facility in chicago, but lives in Monticello talked to club members about working at Acxiom and about tele-commuting.


UAM team composed of CIS club members takes 1st Place

In late February, 6 club members, including Andrea Chambers, James Hartshorn, Catherine Russell, Trey Stutts, Carol Wright, and Ashley Young, participated in the Arkansas Collegiate Programming competition at Conway, AR. The team of Andrea Chambers, James Hartshorn, and Ashley Young took first place in the CIS COBOL programming class. The competition is sponsored by Acxiom Corp. UAM faculty member, Ms. Lori Selby, served as coach for the team.

Guest Speaker on Forest Products Consulting

At the February meeting, Mr. Bob Haygood, a retired Potlatch Co. information systems specialist and currently a free-lance consultant, talked to members about CIS opportunities in the forest products industry.


Chi Iota Sigma Installs Members and Officers

At the annual Christmas party held by the Division of Computer Information Systems on December 6th, the Chi Iota Sigma student organization inducted the first cadre of members and installed its first officers.  In a ceremony conducted by Lezeme Winn, the UAM SGA President, the CIS club inducted 33 members and then installed its first officers, Ashley Young as President, James Hartshorn as Vice President, Rachel Trana as Secretary, Trey Stutts as Treasurer, and Holly Johnson as Scholarship Officer.

The Division also awarded $100 book stipends for the Spring 2002 semester to Tyrone Bennett, Kim Daniel, Carolyn Fielder, Naomi Freeman, Chris Rash, Jacob Reynolds, Justin Rhodes, Chines Sheets, Trey Stunts, and Lisa Thomas.

The party featured fine food provided by the Faculty, Students, and Food services.  Copious numbers of door prizes were also presented.  Everyone enjoyed a great party.

Chi Iota Sigma thanks everyone who contributed to the party, and especially to Ms. Nancy Tappe who did the lion's share of the work coordinating the multi-person effort.

new member inductees
Charter Club Officers

club members
Charter Club Members

Chi Iota Sigma Conducts Successful Food drive

The Officers and Members of Chi Iota Sigma conducted a non-perishable food drive as their Fall 2001 community service activity. Club members, Faculty and Students at UAM were very generous with their donations. Rachel Trana, Chi Iota Sigma Secretary, served as the Chairperson for the food drive.

The food and monies collected were donated to the Drew County Adult Center. Carol Barnett, the staff, and the food recipients at the Adult Center Food Pantry thank everyone involved for their hard work. Tanks also go to Carol and Steve Trana for delivering the food.

The Division of Computer Information Systems culminated the food drive and began the Christmas celebrations with a buffet of snacks for the Division's students. The buffet food was donated by the Faculty, Staff, and Student in the Division.

food drive results
Food Drive Collection

party food table
Christmas Party Spread