General News

Workforce Alliance For Southeast Arkansas To Hold Workshop For Area Educators December 9

MONTICELLO, AR — Superintendents, high school principals and counselors, and the directors of career and technical secondary education centers in southeast Arkansas will meet December 9 as part of a collaborative effort by the University of Arkansas at Monticello, area school districts and industries to change the economic outlook of the region.

Hamburg Student Awarded Cingolani Scholarship

Kate Steen (right) of Hamburg, a senior agriculture major at the University of Arkansas at Monticello, is the 2015-16 recipient of the Aldo Cingolani Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship was established in memory of Aldo Cingolani of McGehee by his family and friends. The scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior enrolled in the UAM School of Agriculture who has shown strong academic progress and excellent professional potential. Pictured with Steen is (left) Dr. Kelly Bryant, dean of the School of Agriculture and director of the Southeast Research and Extension Center.

Queen Carly Finally Gets Her Day

Carly Curry of Sheridan finally got her moment in the sun on a gray, rainy day at Convoy Leslie-Cotton Boll Stadium Saturday afternoon. Curry was named Homecoming Queen at the University of Arkansas at Monticello by a vote of the student body but was unable to attend UAM’s homecoming celebration in October due to illness. Curry, a junior modern languages major, received her crown during pregame ceremonies prior to UAM’s football game with Southeastern Oklahoma. Pictured with Curry are (from left) Jay Jones, UAM’s interim chancellor, Curry’s father, Randy Curry, and Bryson Berry, representing the UAM Student Government Association.

Concert Choir To Present Performance November 17

MONTICELLO, AR — The concert choir at the University of Arkansas at Monticello will perform a variety of works, including excerpts from Handel’s Messiah, at a concert November 17 at 7:30 p.m. in the UAM Fine Arts Center. The performance is free and open to the public.

Music Theatre Workshop To Present Mozart’s “Marriage of Figaro” November 13-14

MONTICELLO, AR — The Music Theatre Workshop at the University of Arkansas at Monticello will present two performances of Acts I and II of Mozart’s comic opera “The Marriage of Figaro” November 13-14 at 7:30 p.m. in the UAM Fine Arts Center auditorium. Both performances will be sung in English and are free and open to the public.

Large Tree Lodges Against Dock At Pendleton, UAM Foresters Inspect And Identify

MONTICELLO, AR — One day last June, David Walt noticed something washed up against the dock and patio of his house on Pendleton Reservoir near Dumas. Spring and early summer rains had raised the Arkansas River to flood stage, washing large trees and other debris down the river. Now one of those large trees was lodged against Walt’s dock. As the water gradually receded, it revealed a massive tree trunk longer than his 60-foot dock. Walt tied the tree to his dock and became fascinated by the size of his mystery tree.

McGehee Campus To Celebrate 40th Anniversary

MONTICELLO, AR — The UAM College of Technology-McGehee will celebrate its 40th anniversary with an evening of food, live music and an auction on Saturday, October 24 from 7 to 10 p.m. at the Delta Resort and Spa in Tillar. Admission is $25.

School Of Education Programs Receive “A” Ratings From National Council on Teacher Quality

MONTICELLO, AR — The teacher preparation program at the University of Arkansas at Monticello is one of two programs in Arkansas to receive an “A” rating from the National Council on Teacher Quality (NCTQ), according to Dr. Peggy Doss, dean of the UAM School of Education. UAM’s program in secondary education received an “A” rating from the NCTQ while the elementary education program received an “A-“ rating.