UAM Jazz Prof Featured On Grammy-Nominated CD

MONTICELLO, AR — Claude Askew had never heard of jazz legend Stan Kenton when a friend asked him if he wanted to see the Stan Kenton Orchestra in concert at Louisiana Tech University.

UAM COT-Crossett Fishing Team Qualifies For National Tournament

MONTICELLO, AR — Trey Rainwater of Bastrop, La., and Drew Fleming of Hamburg caught five bass weighing a total of 11 pounds, 4 ounces at the Walmart-sponsored FLW College Fishing Southern Conference Tournament on the Ouachita River last week and will represent the UAM College of Technology-Crossett at the 2017 College Fishing National Championship Tournament May 31 through June 2, 2017 on Wheeler Lake in Florence, Ala.

Warren Student Wins Inaugural T-Shirt Competition, Donates Cash Prize To Scholarship Fund

MONTICELLO, AR — A t-shirt design by Brittany Barnard of Warren will serve as the official t-shirt of the inaugural celebration of University of Arkansas at Monticello Chancellor Karla Hughes. Barnard’s design was chosen from 26 entries in a campus-wide student competition and highlights the inaugural theme “Honoring tradition, focusing on the future.” The t-shirts will be given to students at a picnic on Monday, October 17 hosted by Dr. Hughes from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Centennial Clock Tower at the center of campus.

Traveling Art Exhibit “Small Works On Paper, 2016” On Display At UAM Through October 26

MONTICELLO, AR — “Small Works on Paper,” a traveling visual art exhibition showcasing artwork no larger than 18 by 24 inches, will be on display in the Glassblock Gallery of the Taylor Library and Technology Center at the University of Arkansas at Monticello through October 26. The exhibition is free and open to the public. Gallery hours are Mondays and Wednesdays, 9 to 10 a.m. and 12 noon to 2 p.m.; Tuesdays and Thursdays, 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.; and Fridays, 10 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Cattlemen’s Association Presents Scholarships To UAM Students

The Desha-Drew County Cattlemen’s Association recently presented scholarships to three agriculture students at the University of Arkansas at Monticello. This year’s recipients are Allison Eubanks of Wilmar, a sophomore animal science and agribusiness double major, Hunter Hayes of Monticello, a sophomore agribusiness major, and Kelsey Windham of Wilmar, a junior animal science major. Pictured from left are Dr. Kelly Bryant, dean of the UAM School of Agriculture, Allison Eubanks, Hunter Hayes, Kelsey Windham, and Glynn Gibson of the Desha-Drew County Cattlemen’s Association.

UAM Reports 7.74 Percent Enrollment Increase For Fall 2016

MONTICELLO, AR — Enrollment for the 2016 fall semester at the University of Arkansas at Monticello increased by nearly eight percent over the previous year, according to official figures released from the Arkansas Department of Higher Education.

COT-McGehee To Host Reality Fair October 25

MONTICELLO, AR — How to purchase a home or vehicle and improving your credit score will be the main topics of a Reality Fair hosted by the UAM College of Technology-McGehee and Superior Federal Credit Union October 25 from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. in the Student Center of the McGehee campus. The event is free and open to the public. For more information, contact Cortez Smith, director of the UAM COT-McGehee’s Career Pathways Initiative at (870) 460-2102 or Justin Carbage, career coach, at (870) 460-2129. - 30 -

UAM To Honor Four At Homecoming With Alumni Awards

MONTICELLO, AR — A retired general, a successful businessman, and an all-star professional football player have been selected to receive the 2016 Alumni Awards for Achievement and Merit from the University of Arkansas at Monticello.

UAM Board of Visitors To Meet October 13

MONTICELLO, AR — The University of Arkansas at Monticello Board of Visitors will meet Thursday, October 13, 2016 at 4 p.m. in the Spencer Gallery of the Fine Arts Center. The meeting is open to the public. For more information, contact Jim Brewer at (870) 460-1274. - 30 -


Daniel Boice, director of the Taylor Library and Technology Center, has been appointed by Chancellor Karla Hughes to the position of Accreditation Liaison Officer for the Higher Learning Commission.