Three From UAM Qualify For College National Finals Rodeo

MONTICELLO, AR - The 2018 College National Finals Rodeo will include a contingent of three tough, talented women from the University of Arkansas at Monticello. Abby Searcy of Monticello, Jessica Rowland of Hot Springs and Whitney DeSalvo of Springfield will represent UAM when the nation's top collegiate cowboys and cowgirls gather in Casper, Wyoming June 10-16.

15 UAM Senior Nursing Students Receive "Shining Star" Awards From JRMC

Fifteen senior BSN nursing students at the University of Arkansas at Monticello were recently presented "Shining Star" awards by the intensive care unit staff at Jefferson Regional Medical Center in Pine Bluff. The awards were presented in recognition of the students' professionalism and knowledge. Pictured from left are (first row) Hernan Mondragon of Montrose, Hannah Murry of Stuttgart, Abby Searcy of Wilmar, Ashley Guffey of Star City, Kya Standford of Grand Prairie, Tex., Anjernique Young of Monticello, (second row, from left) Rebecca Rook of Warren, Jade Grice of Warren, Madison Kelley of Monticello, Corrie Ferrell of Tillar, Holly Rosegrant of Monticello, (top row, from left) Kira Gray of Dermott, Alyssa Zeman of Stuttgart, Christa Wisenor of Fordyce, and Laura Harper of Bastrop, La.

UAM Music Combos To Present Free Concert April 30

MONTICELLO, AR - Four music combos, including the newly-formed UAM Rock Band, will present a free public concert at the University of Arkansas at Monticello April 30 at 7 p.m. in the Visual and Performing Arts Center.

Teacher Candidates Admitted To Teacher Education Program At Pinning Ceremony

Students pictured in this photograph are education majors at the University of Arkansas at Monticello who were recently admitted to the school's teacher education program at a pinning ceremony last week. Pictured from left are (first row) Lindsey Todd of Monticello, Madison Michels of Star City, Corin Reed of White Hall, Sarah Brockwell of Crossett, Harlee Brown of Rison, April Osburn of Monticello, Christina Conley of Monticello, Emily Johnston of Hermitage, (second row) Allison Harrison of Crossett, Courtney Tomboli of Benton, Mary Ferracci of Vicksburg, Miss., Karrah Paschall of Monticello, Ashley Pierce of Hamburg, Jana Jenkins of Crossett, Paxton Harmon of Lonoke, Alexandra Austin of Crossett, (top row) Darian Johnson of Crossett, Abigail Leonards of Crowley, La., Madison Collins of Texarkana, Tex., Jenna Presley of Beebe, Melanie Long of Jacksonville, Tristan McMahan of Warren, C.J. Brewer of Monticello and Lacee Roberson of DeWitt.

UAM Names New Student Ambassadors

These students are among the new members of the University of Arkansas at Monticello's Student Ambassadors honored with a dinner on the UAM campus Monday night. The Ambassadors are an elite group of students who assist the Office of Enrollment Management in the recruitment of new students and serve as hosts at on-campus events. The new members are (first row, from left) Natalie Craig of Sherwood, Skyler Hart of Kingsland, (second row, from left) Spencer Blevins of White Hall, Jordan Kane of Waynesville, Mo., Brooke Dupwe of McGehee, Lauren Robinson of Monticello, Whitney O'Dell of Fort Smith, Garrhett Wilbourn of DeWitt, (top row, from left) Taylor Hoover of Monticello, Timothy Brasfield of Crossett, Daniel Wire of Kenner, La., and Katherine Williams of North Little Rock. (Not Pictured: Jasmine Holmes of Bastrop, La., Morgan Ashley of Bastrop, La., Anthony Walker of Crystal Springs, Miss., and Michael Jenkins of Crossett.)

UAM To Hold Arbor Day Observance April 17

MONTICELLO, Ark. - Students, faculty and staff at the University of Arkansas at Monticello will plant a red maple tree at the center of campus adjacent to the Centennial Clock Tower on Tuesday, April 17 at 12:30 p.m. in observance of Arbor Day, a nationally-celebrated observance that encourages tree planting and care.

Kyle Hargis Named Best In Nation, UAM Debate Students Compete At National Debate Tournament

MONTICELLO, AR - Kyle Hargis of Warren is a national champion. The junior communications major at the University of Arkansas at Monticello was named the season-long national individual speaking champion in varsity debate at the 21st annual International Public Debate Association's national tournament and convention hosted last week by Whitworth University in Spokane, Wash.