Teacher Candidates Admitted To Teacher Education Program At Pinning Ceremony

Students pictured in this photograph are education majors at the University of Arkansas at Monticello who were recently admitted to the school's teacher education program at a pinning ceremony last week. Pictured from left are (first row) Lindsey Todd of Monticello, Madison Michels of Star City, Corin Reed of White Hall, Sarah Brockwell of Crossett, Harlee Brown of Rison, April Osburn of Monticello, Christina Conley of Monticello, Emily Johnston of Hermitage, (second row) Allison Harrison of Crossett, Courtney Tomboli of Benton, Mary Ferracci of Vicksburg, Miss., Karrah Paschall of Monticello, Ashley Pierce of Hamburg, Jana Jenkins of Crossett, Paxton Harmon of Lonoke, Alexandra Austin of Crossett, (top row) Darian Johnson of Crossett, Abigail Leonards of Crowley, La., Madison Collins of Texarkana, Tex., Jenna Presley of Beebe, Melanie Long of Jacksonville, Tristan McMahan of Warren, C.J. Brewer of Monticello and Lacee Roberson of DeWitt.

UAM Names New Student Ambassadors

These students are among the new members of the University of Arkansas at Monticello's Student Ambassadors honored with a dinner on the UAM campus Monday night. The Ambassadors are an elite group of students who assist the Office of Enrollment Management in the recruitment of new students and serve as hosts at on-campus events. The new members are (first row, from left) Natalie Craig of Sherwood, Skyler Hart of Kingsland, (second row, from left) Spencer Blevins of White Hall, Jordan Kane of Waynesville, Mo., Brooke Dupwe of McGehee, Lauren Robinson of Monticello, Whitney O'Dell of Fort Smith, Garrhett Wilbourn of DeWitt, (top row, from left) Taylor Hoover of Monticello, Timothy Brasfield of Crossett, Daniel Wire of Kenner, La., and Katherine Williams of North Little Rock. (Not Pictured: Jasmine Holmes of Bastrop, La., Morgan Ashley of Bastrop, La., Anthony Walker of Crystal Springs, Miss., and Michael Jenkins of Crossett.)

UAM To Hold Arbor Day Observance April 17

MONTICELLO, Ark. - Students, faculty and staff at the University of Arkansas at Monticello will plant a red maple tree at the center of campus adjacent to the Centennial Clock Tower on Tuesday, April 17 at 12:30 p.m. in observance of Arbor Day, a nationally-celebrated observance that encourages tree planting and care.

Kyle Hargis Named Best In Nation, UAM Debate Students Compete At National Debate Tournament

MONTICELLO, AR - Kyle Hargis of Warren is a national champion. The junior communications major at the University of Arkansas at Monticello was named the season-long national individual speaking champion in varsity debate at the 21st annual International Public Debate Association's national tournament and convention hosted last week by Whitworth University in Spokane, Wash.

Monticello Student Receives $1,000 Scholarship From Mainline Health Systems

Abbigail Goodding of Monticello, a junior biology and biochemistry double major at the University of Arkansas at Monticello, was recently awarded a $1,000 scholarship from Mainline Health Systems, Inc. The recipient of the Mainline Health Systems, Inc. Endowed Scholarship must be a resident of Lincoln, Drew, Bradley, Ashley, Chicot or Desha counties, a junior or senior in good academic standing majoring in a pre-professional medical field, and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better. The scholarship will be awarded each fall and spring semester. Pictured from left are Keith Williams, vice chairman of the Mainline Health Systems board of directors, Byron Montgomery, APRN and assistant clinical director, Cassi Bazar, executive assistant, Brittany Sears, marketing manager, Abbigail Goodding, Tafta McCain, chief financial officer, Ron Miller, chairman of the board, Allan Nichols, chief executive officer, and Amanda Gilbert, grants management director.