Nathan Bailey Places First At Collegiate Farm Bureau Discussion Meet

MONTICELLO, AR — Nathan Bailey of Monticello took first place in the 2016 UAM Collegiate Farm Bureau Discussion Meet recently held at the University of Arkansas at Monticello. 

            Discussion meets are sponsored by the Arkansas Farm Bureau and allow participants to discuss a current agricultural issue in a committee meeting format.  Points are given for analysis of the topic, problem solving and implementation, a cooperative attitude, and general delivery.  Each participant makes individual opening and closing statements of their own composition with all participants engaging in a general discussion period.

            The dual question discussed was “How do we get the public to support right-to-farm laws?  Should these laws be determined on the state or the federal level?” 

           Bailey is a sophomore in the UAM School of Agriculture pursuing a bachelor of science degree in agriculture with a plant and soil science option.  He received a cash prize and will represent UAM in the state finals of the Collegiate Discussion Meet during the State Collegiate Farm Bureau and Young Farmer & Rancher Joint Conference in Little Rock. 

            Other UAM students participating in the competition included Justin Calhoun, a senior plant and soil science major from Star City, who received a cash prize for second place and will be the UAM alternate for the state finals.  John Erickson of Chicago, Ill., a senior agribusiness and animal science double major, Jake Helsley of Bentonville, a senior agribusiness major, and Justin Bailey of Thornton, a junior plant and soil science major, also received cash prizes for their local participation. 

            The Collegiate Meet is modeled after the statewide Young Farmer & Ranchers contest sponsored by Arkansas Farm Bureau. Moderator for the activity was Dr. Bob Stark, Collegiate Farm Bureau faculty advisor and professor of agricultural economics.  Dr. Paul Francis, professor of plant and soil science, served as timekeeper.  Judges were Clayton Stephens and Trent Scogin, agents with  Drew County Farm Bureau Insurance, and Harry Willems, Arkansas Farm Bureau state director of organization and member programs.

            For more information, contact the UAM School of Agriculture at (870) 460-1014.



Pictured from left are Clayton Stephens and Trent Scogin of Drew County Farm Bureau Insurance, UAM students Nathan Bailey, John Erickson, Justin Calhoun, Jake Helsley, John Erickson, and Justin Bailey, and Harry Willems of the Arkansas Farm Bureau.


- 30 -