Sigma Tau Delta places in conference

Literary inclinations   Sigma Tau Delta members attending the conference included (front, from left) Amanda Haught, Karon Parrish, Laura McKinney, (back, from left) Heidi Long and Jaime Sweeney.
Laura McKinney
Staff Writer

   The University of Arkansas at Monticello’s Sigma Tau Delta members traveled Nov. 6 to Lamar University at Beaumont, Texas, for the 3rd Annual Southwest Regional conference.

   UAM’s local chapter President Jaime Sweeney received third place in poetry with her poem, “The Truth of Me.” Sophomore Amanda Haught won third place in creative non-fiction with her short story, “The Dorm: After Hours.”  

   Sigma Tau Delta, a national collegiate English Honors Society, honors students who excel in English and writing. The Southwest region includes Arkansas, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico and Arizona. The conference participants broke into categories and presented submitted works in front of peers. Over 30 works appeared in categories such as poetry, fiction, creative non-fiction, and analytical essays.

   Lamar University presented awards at a dinner conference Saturday evening with guest speaker R.S. "Sam" Gwynne. An alumnus of Davidson College and the University of Arkansas, Gwynn has author of five collections of poetry. His criticism of contemporary poetry regularly appears in the Sewanee Review and the Hudson Review, and he has edited two volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography covering contemporary poets, The Advocates of Poetry: A Reader of American Poet-Critics of the Modernist Era, the Pocket Anthology series from Penguin Academics, New Expansive Poetry: Theory, Criticism, History from Story Line Press, The Longman Anthology of Short Fiction (with Dana Gioia), and the forthcoming Contemporary American Poetry: A Pocket Anthology (with April Lindner). His volume of selected poems, "No Word of Farewell," was published in 2001 by Story Line Press. A teacher of creative writing at Lamar since 1976, he was named Distinguished Faculty Lecturer in 2001.

   UAM students attending the conference included President Jaime Sweeney, Secretary/Treasurer Karon Parrish, Heidi Long, Laura McKinney and Amanda Haught.

Have a comment? Please e-mail us.

The Voice, 2004
Revised 041111 —