Skip Navigation
WWW Logo

2006 Awards Ceremony

A Celebration of Academic Excellence

The University of Arkansas at Monticello School of Computer Information Systems recognized its outstanding students during an awards presentation at the School's annual reception. The reception was held on April 25, 2006, in the Capitol Dining Room at the John F. Gibson University Center.

Honored guests included the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Mr. R. David Ray; The Vice Chancellor for Advancement, Ms. Linda Yeiser; the Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Dr. Debbie Bryant; the Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Dr. Ranelle Eubanks; the UAM Library Director, Ms. Sandra Campbell, and the Parents and Friends of CIS Award Nominees.

The School thanks Mr. and Mrs. William Austin for their continuing scholarship support with the William R. and Katie B. Austin Endowed Scholarship fund for CIS majors, and thanks Dr. Debbie Bryant for her continuing CIS General Scholarship fund donations.

Guests, Students, and Faculty Attendees

Candid of Attendees Candid of Attendees

Award Nominees

2006 CIS Award Nominees

The Academic Excellence Award Nominees included Samantha Bunting, Melanie Burch, Erin Beth Cracolici, Trey Dunlap, James Ellis, Megan E. Fisher, Jamie Hays, Michael Howard, Jessica Jarvis, Lawrence R. McCoy, Tillie C. Russell, Justin C. Sanders, Calvin Sojourney, Candis Taylor, Josh Allan Tooke, and Christopher Tucker.

Each nominee was presented a certificate recognizing their nomination.


Academic Excellence Winners

The Academic Achievement Award winners are Melanie Burch, Jamie Hayes, Lawrence R. McCoy, Tillie C. Russell, Calvin Sojourney, and Josh Allen Tooke.

Outstanding Rookie

Megan Fisher

The Outstanding Rookie of the Year is Megan Fisher.

Outstanding Junior

Justin Sanders

The Outstanding Junior of the Year is Justin Sanders.

Outstanding Seniors

James Ellis and Jessica Jarvis

The Outstanding Seniors of the year are James Ellis and Jessica Jarvis.

Faculty Member of the Year

Ms. Angela Marsh

The Faculty Member of the Year, selected by CIS majors and minors, is Ms. Angela Marsh.

Award Presenters

CIS School Chair Dr. James Roiger served as Masters of Ceremonies for the awards presentation and was assisted in making the presentations by faculty members Ms. Terri Hopkins, and Ms. Angela Marsh. Ms. Terri Hopkins, last year's awardee, presented the Faculty Member of the Year award. Ms Lori Selby, the faculty advisor, intorduced the team members of this year's two award-winning programming competion teams.

A special thanks goes to Ms. Nancy Tappe, the School's Support Specialist, who worked very hard to make it all happen.

UAM School of CIS