Skip Navigation
WWW Logo

2004 Awards Ceremony

A Celebration of Academic Excellence

The University of Arkansas at Monticello School of Computer Information Systems recognized its outstanding students during an awards presentation at the School's annual reception. The reception was held on April 27, 2004, in the Capitol Dining Room at the John F. Gibson University Center.

Honored guests included the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Dr. Dennnis Travis; the Registrar, Dr. Debbie Bryant; the Head Librarian, Ms. Sandra Dupree-Campbell; Mr. Lathan Hairston, Finance and Administration Business Manager; and the Parents and Friends of CIS Award Nominees.

The Buffet table attracted most attendees.

Picture of Buffet Table Picture of Buffet Table

Guest, Student, and Faculty Attendees

Picture of  of Attendees Picture of  of Attendees

Award Nominees

Picture of 2004 CIS Award Nominees

The Academic Excellence Award Nominees included Samantha Bunting, Shane A. Clanton, Jamie Cockrell, Russell LaVon Corker, Melanie Cox, Charlette Cross, Trey Dunlap, James Ellis, Carolyn J. Fielder, Jonah P. Freeman, Micah J. Granderson, Cynthia G. Grove, Pamela Hopper, Justin D. Hurst, John Juston Jenkins, Jason Johnson, Jennifer N. Jones, Sonya Courson Knight, Kevin Murphy, Andi Reed, Mark C. Simpson, Jr., C. Michelle Smith, Desiree Thornhill, Josh Allan Tooke, Densen G. Watson, and Thomas Wust.

Each nominee was presented a certificate recognizing their nomination.


Academic Excellence Winners

The Academic Acheivement Award winners are Samantha Bunting, Trey M. Dunlap, Justin Hurst, and Jennifer Jones.

Outstanding Rookie

Picture of James Ellis

The Outstanding Rookie of the Year is James Ellis.

Outstanding Junior

Picture of Pamela Hopper

The Outstanding Junior of the Year is Pamela Hopper.

Outstanding Senior

Picture of Chris Simpson

The Outstanding Senior of the year is Mark C. "Chris" Simpson, Jr.

Faculty Member of the Year

Picture of Faculty Member of the Year

The Faculty Member of the Year, selected by CIS majors and minors, is Ms. Lori Selby.

Award Presenters

CIS Faculty Members

CIS School Chair Dr. James Roiger served as Masters of Ceremonies for the awards presentation and was assisted in making the presentations by faculty members Mr. Jeff Dombrowski, Ms. Jean Hendrix, Ms. Terri Hopkins, and Ms. Lori Selby. Ms. Angela Marsh, last year's awardee, assisted Dr. Roiger in presenting the Faculty Member of the Year award.

A special thanks goes to Ms. Nancy Tappe, the School's Support Specialist, who worked very hard to make it all happen.

UAM School of CIS