Skip Navigation
WWW Logo

2001 Awards Ceremony

A Celebration of Academic Excellence

The University of Arkansas at Monticello School of Computer Information Systems recognized its outstanding students during an awards presentation at the School's annual reception. The reception was held on April 24, 2001, in the Senate Dining Room at the John F. Gibson University Center.

Honored guests included the UAM Chancellor, Dr. Fred Taylor; the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Dr. Dennnis Travis; the Vice Chancellor for Student Services, Dr. Vanneise Collins; the Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration, Dr. Mark Davis; The Director of University Relations and the UAM Foundation, Dr. Peggy Doss; the Registrar, Dr. Debbie Bryant; and the Director of Admissions and Chair of the Scholarship Committee, Ms Mary Whiting.

animated graphic of attendees

Glimpses of the Reception

Award Nominees

The Academic Excellence Award Nominees included Kris Allbritton, Glenda L. Anderson, Janice L. Baker, April Branch, Larry Gene Elliott, Jr., Nicole Renee Freeman, James Hartshorn, Julia McDermott, Kelly Myrick, Mindy M. Ozment, Linda Amidon Pogue, Catherine Russell, Danielle Stires, Lisa M. Thomas, Joseph D. Weatherly, Stephaie Weaver, and Ashley Booke Young.

Each nominee was presented a certificate recognizing their nomination.


Academic Excellence Winners

Picture of Academic Excellece Winner Picture of Academic Ecellence Winner

April Branch and Catherine Russell

Outstanding Rookie

Picture of Outstanding Rookie

James Hartshorn

Outstanding Junior

Picture of Outstanding Junior

Ashley Brooke Young

Outstanding Senior

Picture of Outstanding Senior

Linda Amidon Pogue

Chair's Inspirational Award

Picture of Inspirational Award winner

Glenda Anderson

Collegiate Programming Contest Participants

The two teams who represented UAM at the Annual Collegiate Programming Competition at Conway in February received certificates honoring their participation

The team of Mindy Ozment, Nicole Spurlock, and Ashley Young finished fourth in the competition.

The team of April Branch, Larry Elliott, and Trey Stutts finished fifth in the competition.

The annual contest is sponsored by Acxiom corporation.

Award Presenters

CIS faculty member Ms. Lori Selby served as Master of Ceremonies for the awards presentation and was assisted in making the presentations by faculty members Ms. Jean Hendrix, Ms. Terri Hopkins, Ms. Angela Marsh, and the School Chair Dr. James Roiger.

A special thanks goes to Ms. Nancy Tappe, the School's Support Specialist, who worked very hard to make it all happen.

UAM School of CIS